2017 Year in Review

Published On: October 24th, 2017Categories: Latest News From Marathon HQ

What a year it’s been!

From everyone here at the Detroit Free Press/Chemical Bank Marathon  – congratulations! Whether it was your first race with us,or your fortieth (here’s looking at you Terry, Mark, Edward and Garry), thank you for joining us. Our jobs as race staff can be considered a “labor of love,” and we certainly love what we do. Ask any of our staff – our favorite moment each year is watching all of our finishers. And this year, we watched 20,954 dedicated runners, walkers and wheelers cross our finish lines. Check out all of the race results here.

Just call us the new windy city.

Leading up to race weekend, the most visited website by any staff member was Weather.com. Weather pattern tracking and predicting was done on the hour, every hour, every day. However, race day came and went, with limited precipitation! However, the winds were a different story! With wind speeds hovering between 14 and 24 mph, gusts blew up to 43 mph down Fort Street. To everyone who battled those winds on Belle Isle and the finish line, you rock. Let’s just call it resistance training and hope for calmer weather next year!

On to our 41st running.

The fun doesn’t stop here. We had a blast celebrating our 40th running with everyone, but we can’t wait for next year. Remember, we’re always the third Sunday in October – Detroit’s Marathon Weekend will kick off in 2018 on Oct 19, with races on Saturday, Oct. 20 and Sunday, Oct. 21. We welcome athletes from all walks of life – whether you’re just running a mile or 26.2 miles, we challenge you to join us in the Motor City next year!

From the bottom of our (running) soles, thank you!

-Detroit Marathon/Chemical Bank Marathon Staff


Your 2017 Detroit Free Press/Chemical Bank Marathon staff! Pictured left to right, top to bottom row: Matt Scodellaro, Aaron Velthoven, Robin Wilson, George Dubrish, Pat Irwin, Adrian Berkeley, Kevin Wilson, Adam Korrick, Joey Lipman, Brian Mullaly, Ben Wade, Bill Ewing, Dave Kim, Becky Gade-Sawicki, Matt Sawicki, Kathy Cannon, Heather Pacheco, Rachel Dybicki, Tricia Kelly, Barbara Bennage, Terrye Nicholls, Leah Yanuszeski, Kate Lakin, Nicky Heins, Anna Steele, Patty Soter, Georgette Adkins, Lauren Johnson, Dr. Jennifer Atas. Not pictured: Mari Anzicek, Ned Birkey, John Church, Mary Cox, Jennifer Czuchaj, Tami Duquette, Brian Frost, Don Graham, Brandy Jacobs, Steven Jacobs, Jerry Kozak, Norm Levy, Todd Mitchell, Jeff Potratz, Mark Sparks, Kacey Tulley.